2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Hunter (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after John Hunter (1737–1821), second Governor of New South Wales 1795–99.
10 640 sq km
Location Description:
Hunter includes the Muswellbrook Shire Council, Singleton Council, Cessnock City Council (part) and Lake Macquarie City Council (part). The main towns include Broke, Cessnock, Denman, Mulbring, Muswellbrook, Paxton, Putty, Singleton, Widden and Wyee.
Products/industries of the area:
Agriculture, coal-mining, dairy farming, engineering, farming, forestry, fruit and vegetables, horse studs and racing, timber milling, tourism, wine grapes, wineries and wool. Liddell and Bayswater Power Stations are also in the division.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website to contact the Member for Charlton.
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website to contact the Member for Hunter.
  • Conroy, P (ALP) 2013– (Note: following the 2016 redistribution the Division of Charlton became the Division of Hunter.)
  • Combet, G (ALP) 2007–2013
  • Hoare, K (ALP) 1998–2007
  • Brown, B (ALP) 1984–1998
Former Division of Hunter which was abolished as part of the 2016 redistribution
  • Fitzgibbon, J (ALP) 1996–
  • Fitzgibbon, E J (ALP) 1984–1996
  • Brown, R J (ALP) 1980–1984
  • James, A W (ALP) 1960–1980
  • Evatt, H V (ALP) 1958–1960
  • James, R (ALP) 1928–1958
  • Charlton, M (ALP) 1910–1928
  • Liddell, F (FT/ANTI-SOC) 1903–1910
  • Barton, E (PROT) 1901–1903
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: