2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Charlton (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Charlton (2009) [PDF 234KB]
Map of the Division of Charlton (2009) [PDF 4.6MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after Matthew Charlton (1866–1948), Member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly 1903–10, Member of House of Representatives 1910–28 and leader of ALP 1922–28.
Area and Location Description:
Charlton covers an area of approximately 688 sq km from Rankin Park, Cardiff Heights, Cardiff South and Garden Suburb in the east, encompassing all of Lake Macquarie, then extending south to Wyee, including Mandalong and Martinsville to the west and Seahampton, West Wallsend and Maryland in the north. Main suburbs include, Elermore Vale, Fletcher, Minmi and most of Wallsend in the Newcastle area, Boolaroo, Cardiff, Cooranbong, Edgeworth, Morisset, Speers Point, Toronto, part of Warners Bay, and Wangi Wangi in the Lake Macquarie area.
Products/industries of the area:
Light and heavy engineering, timber, textiles, some dairy farms and poultry farming, tourism, coal-mining, electricity, and retailing.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Combet, G (ALP) 2007–
Hoare, K (ALP) 1998–2007
Brown, B (ALP) 1984–1998
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Charlton
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Charlton
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Charlton
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.