2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Hunter (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Hunter (2009) [PDF 411KB]
Map of the Division of Hunter (2009) [PDF 13.4MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after John Hunter (1737–1821), second Governor of New South Wales 1795–99.
Area and Location Description:
Hunter covers an area of approximately 20 111 sq km from Maitland in the east to Cassilis in the west, Murrurundi in the north and south to Wollombi. The main towns include Aberdeen, Branxton, Cessnock, Denman, Kandos, Kurri Kurri, Maitland, Merriwa, Murrurundi, Muswellbrook, Scone and Singleton.
Products/industries of the area:
Agriculture, aluminium smelting, coal-mining, dairy farming, engineering, farming, forestry, fruit and vegetables, horse studs and racing, timber milling, tourism, wine grapes, wineries and wool. Liddell Power Station and Bays Water Power Station are also in the division.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Fitzgibbon, J (ALP) 1996–
Fitzgibbon, E J (ALP) 1984–1996
Brown, R J (ALP) 1980–1984
James, A W (ALP) 1960–1980
Evatt, H V (ALP) 1958–1960
James, R (ALP) 1928–1958
Charlton, M (ALP) 1910–1928
Liddell, F (FT/ANTI-SOC) 1903–1910
Barton, E (PROT) 1901–1903
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Hunter
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Hunter
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Hunter
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.