Profile of the electoral division of Canning (WA)

Updated: 30 June 2022
Western Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
02 August 2021
First election this name was used at:
1949 federal election
Note: The electoral division was jointly named for the 2022 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2022 federal election
Maps and data

A4 map of the electoral division of Canning (2021) [PDF 1.54MB]

Map of the Division of Canning (2021) [PDF 3.08MB]

Download Western Australia GIS data

Name Derivation:

Jointly named in honour of:

  • Sadie Miriam Canning MBE, 1930–2008. Sadie Canning was Western Australia’s, and possibly Australia’s, first Indigenous Australian nurse and matron who made a significant contribution to Australian health and Indigenous outcomes; and
  • Alfred Wernam Canning, 1860–1936. Alfred Canning was a surveyor who surveyed routes for the rabbit-proof fence from Starvation Harbour to Cape Keraudren and stockroutes to bring cattle from the Kimberley district to feed those working the Western Australian goldfields.
4,245 sq km
Location description

The Division of Canning consists of:

  • Mandurah City Council,
  • Murray Shire Council,
  • Serpentine-Jarrahdale Shire Council,
  • Waroona Shire Council,
  • part of the Armdale City Council,
  • part of the Gosnells City Council, and
  • part of the Kalamunda City Council.
Demographic Rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.