2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Canning (WA)

Updated: 8 July 2016
Western Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
19 January 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Map of Division:
Name derivation:
Named after Alfred Canning 1860–1936, surveyor who pioneered stock roads and rabbit proof fences in Western Australia.
6,304 sq km
Location description:
Canning covers an area from the south-east metropolitan areas of Perth to the adjoining rural areas in the east and south. It encompasses the Cities of Armadale (part) and Mandurah and the Shires of Boddington, Kalamunda (part), Murray, Serpentine-Jarrahdale and Waroona. It includes the boundary suburbs of Armadale (part), Ashendon, Bannister (part), Bedfordale, Byford, Canning Mills, Carmel, Crossman, Darling Downs, Gosnells (part), Hilbert (part), Hopeland, Jarrahdale, Keralup (part), Keysbrook, Lake Clifton, Lakelands, Lesley, Lower Hotham, Madora Bay, Mardella, Marradong, Martin, Mount Richon, Mount Wells, Nanga Brook, Oakford, Oldbury, Orange Grove, Pickering Brook, Preston Beach, Quindanning, Roleystone, Solus, Stake Hill, Upper Murray, Wagerup, Wungong (part), and Wuraming.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Some heavy and light industry, mining, agriculture, recreation, tourism and forestry.
Demographic rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website.
  • Hastie, A (LP) 2015–
  • Randall, D (LP) 2001–2015
  • Gerick, J (ALP) 1998–2001
  • Johnston, R (LP) 1996–1998
  • Gear, G (ALP) 1984–1996
  • Fatin, W F (ALP) 1983–1984
  • Bungey, M H (LP) 1974–1983
  • Hallet, J M (CP) 1963–1974
  • McNeill, N (LP) 1961–1963
  • Hamilton, L W (CP) 1949–1961
AEC contact:
Canning Divisional Office