Profile of the electoral division of Burt (WA)

Updated: 30 June 2022
Western Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
02 August 2021
First election this name was used at:
2016 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2022 federal election
Maps and data

A4 map of the electoral division of Burt (2021) [PDF 1MB]

Map of the Division of Burt (2021) [PDF 1.81MB]

Download Western Australia GIS data

Name Derivation:

Named to honour succeeding generations of the Burt family for their significant contributions to the justice system and for their wider contributions to public service, specifically:

  • Sir Archibald Paull Burt KT, 1810–79, who was appointed the first Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Western Australia in 1861,
  • Septimus Burt, 1847–1919, whose public roles included that of Attorney-General of the colony of Western Australia (1890–97) at the time of colonial self-government, and
  • The Honourable Sir Francis Theodore Page Burt AC KCMG QC, 1918–2004, who served as a judge of the Supreme Court of Western Australia, Chief Justice of Western Australia, Lieutenant Governor of Western Australia and Governor of Western Australia (1990–93).
190 sq km
Location description

The Division of Burt consists of:

  • part of the Armadale City Council,
  • part of the Canning City Council, and
  • part of the Gosnells City Council.
Demographic Rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.