2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Forrest (WA)

Updated: 8 July 2016
Western Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
19 January 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Map of Division:
Name derivation:
Named after Sir John (later Lord) Forrest 1847–1918, the first Premier of Western Australia 1890–1901.
11,072 sq km
Location description:
Forrest covers an area in the south west corner of Western Australia from the Shire of Harvey in the north to the Shires of Augusta-Margaret River and Nannup in the south. The Division includes the cities of Bunbury and Busselton and the shires of Augusta-Margaret River, Capel, Dardanup, Donnybrook-Balingup, Harvey and Nannup.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Agriculture, forestry, mining, fisheries, manufacturing, commerce and tourism.
Demographic rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website.
  • Marino, N (LP) 2007–
  • Prosser, G (LP) 1987–2007
  • Drummond, P H (LP) 1972–1987
  • Kirwan, F (ALP) 1969–1972
  • Freeth, G (LP) 1949–1969
  • Lemmon, N (ALP) 1943–1949
  • Prowse, J H (CP) 1922–1943
AEC contact:
Forrest Divisional Office