2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Forrest (WA)

Updated: 4 September 2013
Western Australia
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Map of Division:
A4 map of the Division of Forrest (2008) [PDF 120KB]
Map of the Division of Forrest (2008) [PDF 7.4MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after Sir John (later Lord) Forrest 1847–1918, the first Premier of Western Australia 1890–1901.
Area and Location Description:
Forrest covers an area of approximately 12 781 sq km encompassing the south west corner of Western Australia from the Shire of Harvey and Collie in the north to the Shires of Augusta-Margaret River and Nannup in the south. The main towns include Augusta, Australind, Bunbury, Busselton, Capel, Collie, Donnybrook, Dunsborough, Eaton, Harvey, Margaret River, Nannup and Yallingup.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Agriculture (beef and dairy cattle, sheep, fruit and vegetables, wine, flowers), forestry, mining (coal and mineral sands), fisheries, manufacturing, commerce and tourism.
First Proclaimed/Election:
Demographic Rating:
Marino, N (LP) 2007–
Prosser, G (LP) 1987–2007
Drummond, P H (LP) 1972–1987
Kirwan, F (ALP) 1969–1972
Freeth, G (LP) 1949–1969
Lemmon, N (ALP) 1943–1949
Prowse, J H (CP) 1922–1943
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Forrest
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Forrest
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Forrest
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.