2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Riverina (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after the area in which it is located.
48 988 sq km
Location Description:
Riverina is located in the south of NSW and extends from Parkes, Cowra, Harden and Gundagai in the east to Ungarie, Ardlethan and Coolamon in the west and from Tullamore, Peak Hill and Parkes in the north to Lockhart, Tarcutta and Gundagai in the south. Towns include Ardlethan, Coolamon, Cootamundra, Cowra, Forbes, Grenfell, Gundagai, Harden, Junee, Parkes, Peak Hill, Tarcutta, Temora, Tullamore, Ungarie, Wagga Wagga, West Wyalong and Young.
Products/industries of the area:
Wheat, barley, canola, rice and cereal crops. Fat lambs, wool, poultry, dairying, cattle, ostrich, emu, deer, and goat farming. Food processing, fruit, grapes and wine making. Flour-milling, concrete pipes, steel construction, saw milling, joinery, plaster works and tourism.
First proclaimed/election:
1901 (From 1984 to 1991 the division was known as Riverina-Darling.)
Demographic rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • McCormack, M (NP) 2010–
  • Hull, K (NP) 1998–2010
  • Hicks, N J (NCP/NP) 1980–1998
  • Fitzpatrick, J (ALP) 1977–1980
  • Sullivan, J W (CP/NCP) 1974–1977
  • Grassby, A J (ALP) 1969–1974
  • Armstrong, A A (CP) 1965–1969
  • Roberton, H S (CP) 1949–1965
  • Langtry, J I (ALP) 1940–1949
  • Nock, H K (CP) 1931–1940
  • Killen, W W (CP) 1922–1931
  • Chanter, J M (NAT & FARMERS) 1914–1922
  • Falkiner, F B S (LIB) 1913–1914
  • Chanter, J M (PROT/ALP) 1904–1913
  • Blackwood, R O (FT) 1903–1904
  • Chanter, J M (PROT) 1901–1903
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: