2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Riverina (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Riverina (2009) [PDF 303KB]
Map of the Division of Riverina (2009) [PDF 10.6MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after the area in which it is located.
Area and Location Description:
Riverina covers an area of approximately 61 435 sq km. The division is located in the south of NSW and extends from Adjungbilly, Yarrangobilly and Cabramurra in the east to Carrathool and Gunbar in the west and from Hillston, Naradhan and Ungarie in the north to Coleambally, Corobimilla, Khancoban and Uranquinty in the south. The rural cities of Wagga Wagga and Griffith are the largest centres. Towns include Coleambally, Coolamon, Gundagai, Hillston, Junee, Leeton, Narrandera, Temora, Tumut, Tumbarumba and West Wyalong.
Products/industries of the area:
Wheat, barley, canola, rice and cereal crops. Fat lambs, wool, poultry, dairying, cattle, ostrich, emu, deer, and goat farming. Food processing, fruit, grapes and wine making. Flour-milling, concrete pipes, steel construction, saw milling, joinery, plaster works and tourism.
First proclaimed/election:
1901 (From 1984 to 1991 the division was known as Riverina-Darling.)
Demographic rating:
McCormack, M (NP) 2010–
Hull, K (NP) 1998–2010
Hicks, N J (NCP/NP) 1980–1998
Fitzpatrick, J (ALP) 1977–1980
Sullivan, J W (CP/NCP) 1974–1977
Grassby, A J (ALP) 1969–1974
Armstrong, A A (CP) 1965–1969
Roberton, H S (CP) 1949–1965
Langtry, J I (ALP) 1940–1949
Nock, H K (CP) 1931–1940
Killen, W W (CP) 1922–1931
Chanter, J M (NAT & FARMERS) 1914–1922
Falkiner, F B S (LIB) 1913–1914
Chanter, J M (PROT/ALP) 1904–1913
Blackwood, R O (FT) 1903–1904
Chanter, J M (PROT) 1901–1903
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Riverina
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Riverina
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Riverina
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.