2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Parkes (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after Sir Henry Parkes (1815–96), former Premier of New South Wales and known as the 'Father of Federation'.
393 413 sq km
Location Description:
Parkes covers an area from the Queensland border in the North including Unincorporated NSW, the City Councils of Broken Hill and Dubbo and the Shire Councils of Central Darling, Cobar, Lachlan, Bogan, Bourke, Brewarrina, Walgett, Moree Plains, Narrabri, Coonamble, Warren, Narromine, Gilgandra, Warrumbungle, Gunnedah and part of Gwydir. The main towns include Bingara, Bourke, Brewarrina, Borken Hill, Cobar, Condobolin, Coonabarabran, Coonamble, Dubbo, Gilgandra, Ivanhoe, Menindee, Moree, Narrabri, Nyngan, Rankin Springs, Tibooburra, Walgett, Warren and Wilcannia.
Products/industries of the area:
Wool, beef, pork, wheat, cotton, oil seed crops, lucerne, fruit, vegetables, dairy cattle, horse, sheep and cattle studs, comprehensive agricultural support services, coal and opal mining, timber, wine growing, tourism, light engineering and construction industries.
First proclaimed/election:
1984 (There was previously a division with the name of Parkes which existed in the Sydney metropolitan area up until 1967.)
Demographic rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Coulton, M (NP) 2007–
  • Cobb, J (NP) 2001–2007
  • Lawler, A (NP) 1998–2001
  • Cobb, M (NP) 1984–1998
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: