2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Parkes (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Parkes (2009) [PDF 655KB]
Map of the Division of Parkes (2009) [PDF 11.2MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after Sir Henry Parkes (1815–96), former Premier of New South Wales and known as the 'Father of Federation'.
Area and Location Description:
Parkes covers an area of approximately 256 643 sq km from the Queensland border in the North to Ilford, Tomingley and Lake Cargelligo in the South; from Bingara, Boggabri and Coolah in the East to Dubbo, Wanaaring and Cobar in the West. The main towns include Bingara, Bourke, Brewarrina, Cobar, Condobolin, Coonabarabran, Coonamble, Dubbo, Gilgandra, Gulgong, Lake Cargelligo, Lightning Ridge, Moree, Mudgee, Mungindi, Narrabri, Narromine, Nyngan, Walgett, Warialda, Warren and Wellington.
Products/industries of the area:
Wool, beef, pork, wheat, cotton, oil seed crops, lucerne, fruit, vegetables, dairy cattle, horse, sheep and cattle studs, comprehensive agricultural support services, coal and opal mining, timber, wine growing, light engineering and construction industries.
First proclaimed/election:
1984 (There was previously a division with the name of Parkes which existed in the Sydney metropolitan area up until 1967.)
Demographic rating:
Coulton, M (NP) 2007–
Cobb, J (NP) 2001–2007
Lawler, A (NP) 1998–2001
Cobb, M (NP) 1984–1998
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Parkes
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Parkes
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Parkes
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.