2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Macarthur (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after Elizabeth Macarthur (1766–1850) and Captain John Macarthur (1767–1834), early settlers in New South Wales and founders of the Australian merino wool industry.
363 sq km
Location Description:
Macarthur covers an area from The Northern Road, Narellan Road, and the western border of the Campbelltown City Council in the west to the eastern border of the Shire of Campbelltown in the east. The northern boundary follows the northern border of the Camden Council and Campbelltown City Council, Campbelltown Road, Williamson and Henderson Roads. The southern boundary follows the southern boundary of the Campbelltown City Council. The main suburbs include Airds, Blairmount, Bradbury, Campbelltown, Catherine Field, Claymore, Currans Hill, Denham Court, Glen Alpine, Gilead, Harrington Park, Ingleburn, Leppington, Leumeah, Menangle Park, Minto, Oran Park, Raby, Rosemedow, St. Andrews, St. Helens Park and Wedderburn.
Products/industries of the area:
Commercial, service, small business and light industrial activities, fruit, vegetable, fodder crops and wine production.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Matheson, R (LP) 2010–
  • Farmer, P (LP) 2001–2010
  • Fahey, J (LP) 1996–2001
  • Haviland, C D (ALP) 1993–1996
  • Martin, S P (ALP) 1984–1993
  • Hollis, C (ALP) 1983–1984
  • Baume, M E (LP) 1975–1983
  • Kerin, J C (ALP) 1972–1975
  • Bate, H J (LP) 1949–1972
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: