2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Macarthur (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Macarthur (2009) [PDF 176KB]
Map of the Division of Macarthur (2009) [PDF 5.4MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after Elizabeth Macarthur (1766–1850) and Captain John Macarthur (1767–1834), early settlers in New South Wales and founders of the Australian merino wool industry.
Area and Location Description:
Macarthur covers an area of approximately 798 sq km stretching from Warragamba and Lake Burragorang in the west to Appin, Wedderburn, Airds, Ruse and Kentlyn in the east. The northern boundary extends east from Lake Burragorang along Werriberri Creek, Eltons Road, Taylors Road, Nepean River, Bringelly Creek, Greendale Road and Bringelly Road to the intersection with Allenby Road. In the south from Eltons Rd following the Nepean River to Ellis Lane, Sickles Creek and Fosters Lane, Westbrook Road, Cawdor Road, past Mt Hercules Road and into Remembrance Drive, Donalds Range Road to the Nepean and Cataract Rivers, Lake Cataract being the most southern point. Main towns and suburbs include Ambarvale, Appin, Bradbury, Camden, Cawdor, Campbelltown, Glen Alpine, Harrington Park, Mount Annan, Narellan, Rossmore, St Helens Park, and parts of Bringelly, Catherine Field, Douglas Park, Leumeah, Razorback and Rossmore.
Products/industries of the area:
The area contains residential, commercial, small business and light industrial activities. The area also produces fruit, vegetables, fodder crops, wine and is a centre for horse-breeding, agistment and tourism. The historic Belgenny Farm, former home of John & Elizabeth Macarthur, the Macarthur Campus of the University of Western Sydney, the University of Sydney farms and the Mount Annan Botanic Gardens are also located within the Macarthur electorate.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Outer Metropolitan
Matheson, R (LP) 2010–
Farmer, P (LP) 2001–2010
Fahey, J (LP) 1996–2001
Haviland, C D (ALP) 1993–1996
Martin, S P (ALP) 1984–1993
Hollis, C (ALP) 1983–1984
Baume, M E (LP) 1975–1983
Kerin, J C (ALP) 1972–1975
Bate, H J (LP) 1949–1972
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Macarthur
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Macarthur
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Macarthur
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.