2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Reid

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir George Reid 1845–1918, one of the framers of the Constitution, Premier of New South Wales 1894–99 and Prime Minister of Australia 1904–05.

Area and Location Description:

Reid covers an area of approximately 68 sq km of the western suburbs of Sydney. The main suburbs include Auburn, Berala, Clyde, Granville, Greystanes, Harris Park, Holroyd, Homebush Bay, Lidcombe, Mays Hill, Newington, Rosehill, Rydalmere, Silverwater, South Granville and parts of Dundas, Ermington, Guildford, Homebush West, Merrylands, Merrylands West, Regents Park, South Wentworthville, Wentworthville and Westmead.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light industry, commercial retail and engineering works and site of the Year 2000 Olympics, Homebush Bay.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Ferguson, L (ALP) 1990–
  • Uren, T (ALP) 1958–1990
  • Morgan, C A (ALP) 1949–1958
  • Lang, J T (LANG LAB) 1946–1949
  • Morgan, C A (ALP) 1940–1946
  • Gander, J H (ALP) 1931–1940
  • Coleman, P E (ALP) 1922–1931

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Reid

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.