2004 Profile of the division of Reid

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir George Reid 1845–1918, one of the framers of the Constitution, Premier of New South Wales 1894–99 and Prime Minister of Australia 1904–05.

Area and Location Description:

Reid covers an area of approximately 62 sq km of the western suburbs of Sydney. The main suburbs include Auburn, Berala, Granville (part), Greystanes (part), Guildford, Guildford West, Holroyd, Homebush Bay, Lidcombe, Merrylands, Merrylands West, Newington, Old Guildford, Regents Park (part), Sefton (part), Silverwater, South Wentworthville (part), Woodpark (part) and Yennora.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light industry, commercial retail and engineering works and site of the Year 2000 Olympics, Homebush Bay.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • FERGUSON, L (ALP) 1990–
  • UREN, T (ALP) 1958–1990
  • MORGAN, C A (ALP) 1949–1958
  • LANG, J T (LANG LAB) 1946–1949
  • MORGAN, C A (ALP) 1940–1946
  • GANDER, J H (ALP) 1931–1940
  • COLEMAN, P E (ALP) 1922–1931

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 78 410
  • Informal Vote: 11.71%
  • Turnout: 92.95%
  • Seat Status: Safe Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 37.23% | ALP: 62.77%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.