2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Mackellar

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Dorothea Mackellar 1885–1968, a famous Australian poet and novelist.

Area and Location Description:

Mackellar covers an area of approximately 210 sq km from the northern part of Palm Beach, south to Dee Why and west to Duffys Forest. The main suburbs include Avalon, Bayview, Belrose, Bilgola, Church Point, Collaroy, Cromer, Davidson, Elanora, Mona Vale, Narrabeen, Newport, Palm Beach, Scotland Island, Terrey Hills, Warriewood and parts of Beacon Hill, Dee Why, Narraweena and Frenchs Forest.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light manufacturing, service industries, commercial wholesale and retail trades and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Bishop, B (LP) 1994–
  • Carlton, J J (LP) 1977–1994
  • Wentworth, W C (LP/IND) 1949–1977

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Mackellar

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.