2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Lalor

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Peter Lalor 1827–89, leader of the Eureka Stockade rebellion in 1854. In 1855 he was elected to the Victorian Legislative Council (one of the first representatives elected from the goldfields).

Area and Location Description:

Lalor covers an area of approximately 991 sq km from Toolern Vale in the north to Werribee South and Point Cook in the south. From Melton West, Parwan and Little River in the west to Diggers Rest (part), Plumpton, Rockbank and Laverton in the east. The main suburbs and towns include Brookfield, Diggers Rest, Exford, Eynesbury, Hoppers Crossing, Kurunjang, Laverton, Laverton North, Little River (part), Mambourin, Melton, Melton South, Melton West, Mount Cottrell, Parwan (part), Plumpton (part), Point Cook, Quandong, Rockbank (part), Tarneit, Toolern Vale (part), Truganina (part), Werribee, Werribee South and Wyndham Vale.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Heavy industries, small industries, market gardening, grazing, cropping, thoroughbred horses, tertiary education, Werribee Mercy Hospital, University of Melbourne Veterinary School and Agriculture & Food Technology Precinct.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Gillard, J (ALP) 1998–
  • Jones, B O (ALP) 1977–1998
  • Cairns, J F (ALP) 1969–1977
  • Lee, M W (LP) 1966–1969
  • Pollard, R T (ALP) 1949–1966

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Lalor

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.