2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Forde

Updated: 16 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Francis Michael Forde 1890–1983, Member of Legislative Assembly 1917–22, Member of House of Representatives 1922–46, Prime Minister of Australia 6–12 July 1945.

Area and Location Description:

Forde covers an area of approximately 3 167 sq km from Loganholme and Eagleby in the northeast, to Lyons and Undullah in the west, the New South Wales border to the south and the divisions of Fadden, McPherson and Moncrieff in the east. Suburbs and towns include Beenleigh, Bethania, Beaudesert, Beechmont, Canungra, Eagle Heights, Eagleby, Edens Landing, Hillview, Jimboomba, Loganholme, Luscombe, Mount Tamborine, Munruben, Numinbah Valley, Park Ridge South, Rathdowney, Tamborine, Waterford, Waterford West, Yatala and parts of Advancetown, Cedar Creek, Loganlea, Ormeau and Ormeau Hills.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

A diverse area from residential suburbs to the farming and dairying areas of the Beaudesert Shire.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Raguse, B (ALP) 2007–
  • Elson, K (LP) 1996–2007
  • Crawford, M C (ALP) 1987–1996
  • Watson, D J H (LP) 1984–1987

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Forde

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.