2004 Profile of the division of Forde

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Francis Michael Forde 1890–1983, Member of Legislative Assembly 1917–22, Member of House of Representatives 1922–46, Prime Minister of Australia 6–12 July 1945.

Area and Location Description:

Forde covers an area of approximately 5 202 sq km from Logan in the northeast to the Boonah Shire in the south-west and to the New South Wales Border in the south. The main suburbs/towns include Aratula, Beenleigh, Bethania, Beaudesert, Beechmont, Boonah, Canungra, Eagleby, Edens Landing, Jimboomba, Lake Moogerah, Loganlea, Mt Tamborine, Munruben, Numinbah Valley, Ormeau Hills Rathdowney, Tamborine and Waterford.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

A diverse area from residential suburbs to the farming and dairying areas of the Beaudesert and Boonah Shires and also includes some light industry.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • ELSON, K (LP) 1996–
  • CRAWFORD, M C (ALP) 1987–1996
  • WATSON, D J H (LP) 1984–1987

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 86 346
  • Informal Vote: 6.38%
  • Turnout: 93.30%
  • Seat Status: Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 62.98% | ALP: 37.02%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.