2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Brisbane

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the city of Brisbane which was named after Sir Thomas MacDougall Brisbane 1773–1860, Governor of New South Wales 1820–25.

Area and Location Description:

Brisbane covers an area of approximately 76 sq km from Everton Park and Stafford in the north to the Brisbane River in the east and south and to Ferny Grove and Upper Kedron in the west. The main suburbs include Alderley, Ashgrove, Bowen Hills, Brisbane City, Enoggera, Ferny Grove, Fortitude Valley, Gaythorne, Grange, Herston, Kelvin Grove, Keperra, Milton, Mitchelton, New Farm, Newmarket, Newstead, Red Hill, Spring Hill, Upper Kedron, Wilston, Windsor and parts of Bardon, Everton Park, Paddington, Stafford.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

The area is mostly residential but contains some light industry. It includes the Queensland Parliament House and Brisbane City Council Chambers. The Enoggera Military Camp and many Commonwealth Government, State Government and business administrative offices are found in the area.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Bevis, A (ALP) 1990–
  • Cross, M D (ALP) 1980–1990
  • Johnson, P F (LP) 1975–1980
  • Cross, M D (ALP) 1961–1975
  • Lawson, G (ALP) 1931–1961
  • Cameron, D C (NAT) 1919–1931
  • Finlayson, W F (ALP) 1910–1919
  • Foxton, J F G (ANTI-SOC) 1906–1910
  • Culpin, M (ALP) 1903–1906
  • Macdonald-Paterson, T (FT) 1901–1903

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Brisbane

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.