2004 Profile of the division of Solomon

Updated: 30 September 2011


Northern Territory

Name Derivation:

Named after Vaiben Louis Solomon 1853–1908, who has been described as the Northern Territory's founding father of federation.

Area and Location Description:

Solomon covers an area of approximately 326 sq km and includes the cities of Darwin and Palmerston and urban fringes.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Tourism, horticulture, fishing and light industry.

First Proclaimed/Election:

2000/2001 (Previously part of the Division of Northern Territory – 1922–2000.)

Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • TOLLNER, D (CLP) 2001–

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 54 725
  • Informal Vote: 4.00%
  • Turnout: 91.21%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Country Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: CLP: 52.81% | ALP: 47.19%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.