2004 Profile of the division of Kingston

Updated: 29 September 2011


South Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Charles Kingston 1850–1908, Premier of South Australia 1893–99.

Area and Location Description:

Kingston division covers an area of approximately 377 sq km from Hallett Cove and O'Halloran Hill in the north to Sellicks Beach in the south. The main suburbs include Aldinga Beach, Christie Downs, Christies Beach, Hackham, Hallett Cove, Happy Valley, Huntfield Heights, Lonsdale, McLaren Flat, McLaren Vale, Maslin Beach, Moana, Morphett Vale, Old Noarlunga, Onkaparinga Hills, Port Noarlunga, Reynella, Seaford, Sellicks Beach, Sheidow Park, Port Willunga, Trott Park, Willunga and Woodcroft.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Wineries, motor vehicle production, major retailing and various small industries including brickworks, optical lenses, clothing and engineering occupy the northern part of the division.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • COX, D (ALP) 1998–2004
  • JEANES, S (LP) 1996–1998
  • BILNEY, G N (ALP) 1983–1996
  • CHAPMAN, H G P (LP) 1975–1983
  • GUN, R (ALP) 1969–1975
  • BROWNBILL, K C M (LP) 1966–1969
  • GALVIN, P (ALP) 1951–1966
  • HANDBY, H H (LP) 1949–1951

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 94 131
  • Informal Vote: 5.77%
  • Turnout: 95.31%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 50.07% | ALP: 49.93%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.