2001 Profile of the division of Kingston

Updated: 9 February 2011


South Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Charles Cameron Kingston (1850–1908), Premier of South Australia (1893–1899), elected to the first House of Representatives in 1901 and first Member for the division of Adelaide in 1903.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 403 sq km from Hallett Cove and O'Halloran Hill in the north to Sellicks Beach and Port Willunga in the south.

The main suburbs include Aldinga Beach, Christie Downs, Christies Beach, Hackham, Hallett Cove, Happy Valley, Hunterfield Heights, Lonsdale, Maslin Beach, Moana, Morphett Vale, Onkaparinga Hills, Port Noarlunga, Reynella, Seaford, Sellicks Beach, Sheldow Park, Port Willunga, Woodcroft and Woodend.

Products/Industries of the area:

Oil refinery, motor vehicle production and various small industries including brickworks, optical lenses, clothing and engineering occupy the northern part of the division.

First Proclaimed



  • David Cox (ALP) 1998–
  • S Jeanes (LP) 1996–98
  • G N Bilney (ALP) 1983–96
  • H G P Chapman (LP) 1975–83
  • R Gun (ALP) 1969–75
  • K C M Brownbill (LP) 1966–69
  • P Galvin (ALP) 1951–66
  • H H Handby (LP) 1949–51

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Outer Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 88 999

Informal Vote: 4.66%

Turnout: 96.22%

Seat Status: Marginal Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 50.47%
  • LP: 49.53%

Enrolment: 83 053

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.80%
  • Preamble Question 0.94%


  • Republic Question 96.72%
  • Preamble Question 96.72%

Enrolment: 85 398

Informal Vote: 5.5%

Turnout: 96.02%

Seat Status: Marginal Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 52.42%
  • LP: 47.58%