2004 Profile of the division of Braddon

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Edward Braddon 1829–1904, Premier of Tasmania 1894–99, and a Member of the House of Representatives 1901–04.

Area and Location Description:

Braddon is a rural electorate covering approximately 11 760 sq km in North West Tasmania. It includes King Island. The cities of Burnie and Devonport are in the Division of Braddon. Other towns include Currie, Latrobe, Penguin, Port Sorell, Smithton, Somerset, Stanley, Ulverstone, Waratah and Wynyard.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Forestry, fishing, kelp harvesting, dairying, beef cattle production and vegetable, poppy and pyrethrum growing are major primary industries. Vegetable processing, cheese manufacture and sawmilling complement these activities. An iron ore mine is located at Savage River. Manufacturing industry includes paper mills at Burnie and Wesley Vale, mining equipment at Burnie and weaving mills at Devonport. A number of telecommunications call centres are located in the Division. Burnie and Devonport are major ports, and interstate airports are located at Devonport and Wynyard. A daily passenger ferry service operates between Devonport and Port Melbourne.

First Proclaimed/Election:

1955 (This division was previously Darwin, which was proclaimed in 1903. Its name was changed in 1955.)

Demographic Rating:



  • BAKER, M (LP)–
  • SIDEBOTTOM, S (ALP) 1998–2004
  • MILES, C (LP) 1984–1998
  • GROOM, R J (LP) 1975–1984
  • DAVIES, R (ALP) 1958–1975
  • LUCK, A W G (LP) 1955–1958

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 69 988
  • Informal Vote: 3.61%
  • Turnout: 96.04%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 51.13% | ALP: 48.87%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.