2001 Profile of the division of Braddon

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Edward Braddon (1829–1904), Premier of Tasmania (1894–1899), and a Member of the House of Representatives (1901–1904).

Area and Location Description:

Braddon is a rural electorate covering approximately 11 760 sq km in North West Tasmania. It includes King Island.

The cities of Burnie and Devonport are in the Division of Braddon. Other major towns include Currie, Latrobe, Penguin, Port Sorell, Smithton, Stanley, Ulverstone, Waratah and Wynyard.

Products/Industries of the area:

Forestry, fishing, kelp harvesting, dairying, beef cattle production and vegetable, poppy and pyrethrum growing are major primary industries. Vegetable processing, cheese manufacture and sawmilling complement these activities. An iron ore mine is located at Savage River. Manufacturing industry includes paper mills at Burnie and Wesley Vale, mining equipment at Burnie and weaving mills at Devonport. A number of telecommunications call centres are located in the Division.

Burnie and Devonport are major ports, and interstate airports are located at Devonport and Wynyard. A daily passenger ferry service operates between Devonport and Port Melbourne.

First Proclaimed



  • Sid Sidebottom (ALP) 1998–
  • C Miles (LP) 1984–98
  • R J Groom (LP) 1975–84
  • R Davies (ALP) 1958–75
  • A W G Luck (LP) 1955–58

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 62 419

Informal Vote: 3.57%

Turnout: 96.54%

Seat Status: Marginal Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 54.33%
  • LP: 45.67%

Enrolment: 61 795

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.98%
  • Preamble Question 1.04%


  • Republic Question 96.63%
  • Preamble Question 96.63%

Enrolment: 67 749

Informal Vote: 3.33%

Turnout: 96.45%

Seat Status: Marginal Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 55.96%
  • LP: 44.04%