Profile of the electoral division of Wright (Qld)

Updated: 19 November 2019
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
27 March 2018
First election this name was used at:
2010 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Wright (2018) [PDF 1.17MB]
Map of the Division of Wright (2017) [PDF 3.40MB]
Download Queensland GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Judith Wright, 1915–2000, in recognition of her service and contributions to Australia as a poet, author and social and environmental activist. Ms Wright was founding president of the Wildlife Preservation Society of Queensland and a founding member of the Aboriginal Treaty Committee.
7,577 sq km
Location description

The Division of Wright consists of:

  • Lockyer Valley Regional Council,
  • part of the Gold Coast City Council,
  • part of the Ipswich City Council,
  • part of the Logan City Council,
  • part of the Scenic Rim Regional Council, and
  • part of the Southern Downs Regional Council.
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details