Profile of the electoral division of Perth (WA)

Updated: 30 June 2022
Western Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
02 August 2021
First election this name was used at:
1901 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2022 federal election
Maps and data

A4 map of the electoral division of Perth (2021) [PDF 1.29MB]

Map of the Division of Perth (2021) [PDF 2.57MB]

Download Western Australia GIS data

Name Derivation:
Named after the City of Perth. Under instructions from the Secretary for the Colonies, Sir George Murray, the new town and future seat of government in the Colony of Western Australia was called Perth. Murray was a Perthshire man and represented his birthpace in the House of Commons.
80 sq km
Location description

The Division of Perth consists of:

  • Bassendean Town Council,
  • Vincent City Council,
  • part of the Bayswater City Council,
  • part of the Perth City Council, and
  • part of the Stirling City Council.
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.