Profile of the electoral division of Gorton (Vic)

Updated: 17 August 2022
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
26 July 2021
First election this name was used at:
2004 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2022 federal election
Maps and data

A4 map of the electoral division of Gorton (2021)

Map of the Division of Gorton (2021) [PDF 3.06MB]

Download Victoria GIS data

Name Derivation:
Named in honour of the Rt Hon. Sir John Grey Gorton GCMG AC CH, 1911-2002. Gorton was Prime Minister of Australia (1968–71), a Senator for Victoria (1949–68) and a Member of the House of Representatives (1968–75).
217 sq km
Location description

The Division of Gorton consists of:

  • part of the Brimbank City Council, and
  • part of the Melton City Council.
Demographic Rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.