Profile of the electoral division of Corangamite (Vic)

Updated: 17 August 2022
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
26 July 2021
First election this name was used at:
1901 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2022 federal election
Maps and data

A4 map of the electoral division of Corangamite (2021)

Map of the Division of Corangamite (2021) [PDF 1.25MB]

Download Victoria GIS data

Name Derivation:
Named after the geographic area covered at one time by the electoral division. 'Corangamite' is believed to be derived from the Gulidjan word for 'bitter water'.
1,506 sq km
Location description

The Division of Corangamite consists of:

  • Borough of Queenscliffe,
  • part of the Golden Plains Shire Council,
  • part of the Greater Geelong City Council, and
  • part of the Surf Coast Shire Council.
Demographic Rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.