Profile of the electoral division of Kennedy (Qld)

Updated: 17 August 2022
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
27 March 2018
First election this name was used at:
1901 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Kennedy (2018) [PDF 725KB]
Map of the Division of Kennedy (2017) [PDF 7.43MB]
Download Queensland GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in honour of Edmund Besley Court Kennedy, 1818–48, surveyor and explorer who sought to find an overland route to the Gulf of Carpentaria.
567,377 sq km
Location description

The Division of Kennedy consists of:

  • Boulia Shire Council,
  • Burke Shire Council,
  • Cassowary Coast Regional Council,
  • Charters Towers Regional Shire Council,
  • Cloncurry Shire Council,
  • Croydon Shire Council,
  • Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council,
  • Etheridge Shire Council,
  • Flinders Shire Council,
  • McKinlay Shire Council,
  • Mornington Shire Council,
  • Mt Isa City Council,
  • Richmond Shire Council,
  • Tablelands Regional Council,
  • Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council,
  • part of the Burdekin Shire Council,
  • part of the Cairns Regional Council,
  • part of the Carpentaria Shire Council,
  • part of the Hinchinbrook Shire Council,
  • part of the Mareeba Shire Council, and
  • part of the Townsville City Council.
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details