Profile of the electoral division of Capricornia (Qld)

Updated: 17 August 2022
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
27 March 2018
First election this name was used at:
1901 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2019 federal election
Maps and data
A4 map of the electoral division of Capricornia (2018) [PDF 836KB]
Map of the Division of Capricornia (2017) [PDF 5.73MB]
Download Queensland GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named in recognition of the Tropic of Capricorn.
90,903 sq km
Location description

The Division of Capricornia consists of:

  • Isaac Regional Council,
  • Livingstone Shire Council,
  • part of the Mackay Regional Council,
  • part of the Rockhampton Regional Council, and
  • part of the Whitsunday Regional Council.
Demographic Rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details