Profile of the electoral division of Paterson (NSW)

Updated: 17 August 2022
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election this name was used at:
1949 federal election
Note: The name 'Paterson' was retired for the 1984 federal election and was resurrected for the 1993 federal election, at which time it was jointly named.
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
The electoral division is jointly named in honour of:
  • Colonel William Paterson, 1755–1810. Paterson was a solider and botanist who served as Lieutenant-Governor of the Colony of New South Wales (1794–95, 1800–1808 and 1809). The town and river are named after Paterson, and
  • Andrew Barton 'Banjo' Paterson CBE, 1864–1941. Paterson was a journalist, war correspondent and poet whose many works include 'The Man from Snowy River'.
1 123 sq km
Location Description:
Paterson extends from Neath, Kurri Kurri and Williamtown in the south, along the Hunter River and Port Stephens in the north and along the Hunter Expressway to the west. The main towns include Kurri Kurri, Maitland, Medowie, Neath, Nelson Bay, Raymond Terrace and Williamtown.
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.
Demographic rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: