2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Stirling (WA)

Updated: 8 July 2016
Western Australia
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
19 January 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Map of Division:
Name derivation:
Named after Sir James Stirling 1791–1865, the first Governor of Western Australia.
74 sq km
Location description:
Stirling contains the majority of the City of Stirling and a small portion of the City of Bayswater. Suburbs include Balcatta, Balga, Carine, Dianella (part), Gwelup, Hamersley, Joondanna, Karrinyup (part), Mirrabooka, Morley (part), Nollamara, North Beach, Osborne park (part), Scarborough (part), Stirling, Trigg, Tuart Hill, Watermans Bay, Westminster and Yokine.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Industries include light industrial, retail, commercial, medical, fishing, tourism and recreation.
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Keenan, M (LP) 2004–
  • McFarlane, J (ALP) 1998–2004
  • Cameron, E (LP) 1993–1998
  • Edwards, R F (ALP) 1983–1993
  • Viner, R I (LP) 1972–1983
  • Webb, C H (ALP) 1961–1972
  • Cash, E D (LP) 1958–1961
  • Webb, C H (ALP) 1955–1958
AEC contact:
Stirling Divisional Office