2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Wentworth (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after William Charles Wentworth (1790–1872), a noted Australian explorer and statesman. He accompanied Blaxland and Lawson on their crossing of the Blue Mountains.
38 sq km
Location Description:
Wentworth covers an area from Elizabeth Bay along the southern shore of Sydney Harbour to Watsons Bay and down the coast to Clovelly. The western boundary runs along the eastern border of Potts Point and Darlinghurst to Oxford Street, Flinders Street, South Dowling Street and Dacey Avenue. The southern boundary follows Allison Road, King Street, Wentworth Street, Stanley Street, Avoca Street, Frenchmans Road, Clovelly Road, Walker Avenue and Bundock Park. The main suburbs include Bellevue Hill, Bondi, Clovelly (part), Darlinghurst (part), Darling Point, Dover Heights, Elizabeth Bay, Moore Park, Paddington, Point Piper, Rose Bay, Vaucluse, Watsons Bay and Waverley.
Products/industries of the area:
Finance, property, service, wholesale and retail trade, tourism, education, sport and recreation.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Turnbull, M (LP) 2004–
  • King, P (LP) 2001–2004
  • Thomson, A (LP) 1995–2001
  • Hewson, J (LP) 1987–1995
  • Coleman, P (LP) 1981–1987
  • Ellicott, R J (LP) 1974–1981
  • Bury, L H E (LP) 1956–1974
  • Harrison, E J (UAP/LP) 1931–1956
  • Marks, W M (NP) 1919–1931
  • Kelly, W H (FT/ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1903–1919
  • McMillan, W (FT) 1901–1903
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: