2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Watson (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after John Watson (1867–1941), Prime Minister of Australia 27 April–12 August 1904.
47 sq km
Location Description:
Watson covers an area from the Main Suburban Railway, Centenary Drive and the Hume Highway in the north to the South Western Motorway, Kingsgrove Road and Canterbury Road in the south. In the east by Old Canterbury Road and Prospect Road and in the west by Fairford Road, Stacey Street, Rookwood Road, Joseph Street and Olympic Dive. The main suburbs include Ashfield, Bankstown (part), Belfield, Belmore, Campsie, Canterbury (part), Chullora, Croydon Park, Enfiled, Greenacre, Kingsgrove, Lakemba, Mount Lewis, Punchbowl, Rookwood, Roselands and Strathfield South.
Products/industries of the area:
Light manufacturing and service industries.
First proclaimed/election:
1992/1993 (Watson became a division in 1992 but was previously known as St George which became a division in 1948.)
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Burke, T (ALP) 2004–
  • McLeay, L (ALP) 1993–2004 (Note: at the 1992 redistribution a new Division of Watson was established.)
  • Cope, J (ALP) 1955–69 (Note: following the 1968 redistribution the Division of Watson was abolished.)
  • Curtin, D J (ALP) 1949–55
  • Falstein, S M (ALP) 1940–49
  • Jennings, J T (UAP) 1934–40
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: