2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Richmond (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after the area in which it is located.
2 148 sq km
Location Description:
Richmond covers an area from the New South Wales/Queensland border in the north to Ballina and Pimlico in the south. The main towns include Ballina, Bangalow, Brunswick Heads, Burringbar, Byron Bay, Hastings Point, Kingscliff, Lennox Head, Mullumbimby, Murwillumbah, Suffolk Park, and Tweed Heads.
Products/industries of the area:
Tourism, commercial fishing, agriculture including dairy, beef cattle, tropical fruits, sugarcane, coffee and macadamia nuts, sugar processing, timber, light engineering, boat building and cottage industries.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Elliot, J (ALP) 2004–
  • Anthony, L (NP) 1996–2004
  • Newell, N J (ALP) 1990–1996
  • Blunt, C W (NP) 1984–1990
  • Anthony, J D (CP/NCP/NP) 1957–1984
  • Anthony, H L (CP) 1937–1957
  • Green, R F (CP) 1922–1937
  • Massey-Greene, W (LIB/NAT) 1910–1922
  • Ewing, T T (PROT) 1901–1910
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: