2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Lyne (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after Sir William Lyne (1844–1913), Premier of New South Wales 1899–1901.
16 099 sq km
Location Description:
Lyne covers an area from Ballengarra in the north to Paterson and Karuah in the south and inland to the western boundaries of the Shires of Greater Taree, Port Macquarie – Hastings, Gloucester, Dungog and Maitland (part). The main towns include Bonny Hills, Bulahdelah, Dungog, Forster, Gloucester, Gresford, Harrington, Hawks Nest, Lake Cathie, Lansdowne, Laurieton, Nabiac, North Haven, Old Bar, Paterson, Smiths Lake, Stroud, Taree and Wauchope.
Products/industries of the area:
Timber, beef/dairy cattle, mixed farming, fishing and oyster farming, boat building, engineering, mining and tourism.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Gillespie, D (NP) 2013–
  • Oakeshott, R (Ind) 2008–2013
  • Vaile, M (NP) 1993–2008
  • Cowan, D B (NCP/NP) 1980–1993
  • Lucock, P E (CP/NCP) 1952–1980
  • Eggins, E J (CP) 1949–1952
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: