2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Dobell (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after Sir William Dobell (1899–1970), a prominent Australian artist.
787 sq km
Location Description:
Dobell covers an area from Ravensdale in the north to Erina Heights in the south. The main towns include Alison, Bateau Bay, Berkeley Vale, Bushells Ridge (part), Cedar Brush Creek, Central Mangrove, Charmhaven, Dooralong, Doyalson (part), Erina Heights, Gorokan, Jilliby, Kanwal, Killarney Vale, Lemon Tree, Lisarow, Magenta, Norah Head, Ourimbah, Palmdale, Palm Gove, Ravensdale, Tacoma, The Entrance, Toowoon Bay, Toukley, Tuggerah, Tumbi Umbi, Wallarah, Wamberal, Warnervale, Wyoming, Wyong, Wyong Creek and Yarramalong.
Products/industries of the area:
Fruit, vegetables, manufacturing industries, prawning, fishing, tourism and mixed farming.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • McNamara, K (LP) 2013–
  • Thomson, C (ALP) 2007–2013
  • Ticehurst, K (LP) 2001–2007
  • Lee, M (ALP) 1984–2001
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: