2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Blaxland (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after Gregory Blaxland (1778–1853), an early Australian explorer of the Blue Mountains in New South Wales.
61 sq km
Location Description:
Blaxland is bordered by Georges River, Prospect Creek and Woodville Road on the west, along Boorea Street, St Hilliers Road, the Western Motorway, Duck River, Mackay Road, Bennett Road, Clyde Street, Dellwood Street, Blaxcell Street, Adam Street, Excelsior Street and Constance Street in the north. Follows Olympic Drive, Joseph Street, Rookwood and Stacey Street and Fairford Road on the east and along the South Western Motorway in the south. The main suburbs include Auburn (part), Bankstown (part), Berala, Chester Hill, Condell Park, Georges Hall, Guilford (part), Lidcombe (part), Milperra, South Grandville, Villawood and Yagoona.
Products/industries of the area:
Retail, commercial and service industries including railway workshops, aircraft repairs, transport and storage.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Clare, J (ALP) 2007–
  • Hatton, M (ALP) 1996–2007
  • Keating, P J (ALP) 1969–1996
  • Harrison, E J (ALP) 1949–1969
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: