2010 federal election: Profile for the electoral division of Forrest

Updated: 25 October 2011




Western Australia

Contact details:

Contact the Forrest Divisional Office

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir John (later Lord) Forrest 1847–1918, the first Premier of Western Australia 1890–1901.

Area and Location Description:

Forrest covers an area of approximately 12 781 sq km encompassing the south west corner of Western Australia from the Shire of Harvey and Collie in the north to the Shires of Augusta-Margaret River and Nannup in the south. The main towns include Augusta, Australind, Bunbury, Busselton, Capel, Collie, Donnybrook, Dunsborough, Eaton, Harvey, Margaret River, Nannup and Yallingup.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Agriculture (beef and dairy cattle, sheep, fruit and vegetables, wine, flowers), forestry, mining (coal and mineral sands), fisheries, manufacturing, commerce and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:




Demographic Rating:



  • Marino, N (LP) 2007–
  • Prosser, G (LP) 1987–2007
  • Drummond, P H (LP) 1972–1987
  • Kirwan, F (ALP) 1969–1972
  • Freeth, G (LP) 1949–1969
  • Lemmon, N (ALP) 1943–1949
  • Prowse, J H (CP) 1922–1943

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.