2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of McEwen (Vic)

Updated: 4 September 2013
Current, boundary gazetted 24 December 2010.
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of McEwen (2010) [PDF 6.6MB]
Map of the Division of McEwen (2010) [PDF 30.5MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after Sir John McEwen 1900–80, who served as caretaker Prime Minister of Australia for three weeks 1967–68.
Area and Location Description:
The Division of McEwen is located north of Melbourne in central Victoria. It covers an area of 4 592 sq km from Seymour in the north to Sunbury and Bulla in the south-west to Craigieburn in the south and from Lancefield in the west to Reedy Creek in the east. The main towns and localities include Broadford, Craigieburn, Doreen, Kilmore, Lancefield, New Gisborne, Riddells Creek, Romsey, Seymour, Sunbury, Wallan and Whittlesea.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Cattle grazing, wool growing, market gardening, wines, dairying, various small businesses and tourism.
First Proclaimed/Election:
Demographic Rating:
Mitchell, R (ALP) 2010–
Bailey, F (LP) 1996–2010
Cleeland, P R (ALP) 1993–1996
Bailey, F E (LP) 1990–1993
Cleeland, P R (ALP) 1984–1990
Current Member Details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for McEwen
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for McEwen
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for McEwen
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.