2010 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of McEwen (Vic)

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Sir John McEwen 1900–80, who served as caretaker Prime Minister of Australia for three weeks 1967–68.

Area and Location Description:

McEwen covers an area of 10 675 sq kms from Seymour in the north to Powelltown in the south, and from Woodend in the west to Alexandra in the east. The main towns and localities include Alexandra, Broadford, Diamond Creek (part), Eildon, Gisborne, Healesville, Lancefield, Hurstbridge, Kilmore, Macedon, Marysville, Riddells Creek, Romsey, Seymour, Wallan, Warburton, Whittlesea, Woodend (part), Woori Yallock (part), Yarra Glen, Yarra Junction and Yea.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Cattle grazing, wool growing, forestry, market gardening, wines, sawmills, dairying, various small businesses and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Bailey, F (LP) 1996–
  • Cleeland, P R (ALP) 1993–1996
  • Bailey, F E (LP) 1990–1993
  • Cleeland, P R (ALP) 1984–1990

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.