2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Reid (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Reid (2009) [PDF 128KB]
Map of the Division of Reid (2009) [PDF 6.8MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after Sir George Reid (1845–1918), one of the framers of the Constitution, Premier of New South Wales 1894–99 and Prime Minister of Australia 1904–05.
Area and Location Description:
Reid covers an area of approximately 66 sq km from the Parramatta River in the north, Drummoyne and Rodd Point in the east, Silverwater and Auburn in the west and Rookwood, parts of Strathfield and Burwood in the south. The main suburbs include Abbotsford, Auburn (part), Berala (part), Breakfast Point, Burwood (part), Cabarita, Canada Bay, Chiswick, Concord, Concord West, Croydon (part), Drummoyne, Five Dock, Homebush, Homebush West, Liberty Grove, Lidcombe, Mortlake, Newington, North Strathfield, Rhodes, Rodd Point, Russell Lea, Silverwater, Strathfield (part), Sydney Olympic Park, Wareemba and Wentworth Point.
Products/industries of the area:
Light industry, commercial retail and engineering works. Wholesale and retail trades, including Sydney Markets.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan
Murphy, J (ALP) 2010–
Ferguson, L (ALP) 1990–2010
Uren, T (ALP) 1958–1990
Morgan, C A (ALP) 1949–1958
Lang, J T (LANG LAB) 1946–1949
Morgan, C A (ALP) 1940–1946
Gander, J H (ALP) 1931–1940
Coleman, P E (ALP) 1922–1931
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Reid
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Reid
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Reid
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.