Commonwealth Electoral Division of Reid (NSW) (formerly Lowe)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:

Reid (formerly Lowe)


New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile, see Lowe)

Contact details:

Contact the Reid AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Sir George Reid (1845–1918), one of the framers of the Constitution, Premier of New South Wales 1894–99 and Prime Minister of Australia 1904–05.

Size & location description:

Reid covers an area of approximately 66 sq km from the Parramatta River in the north, Drummoyne and Rodd Point in the east, Silverwater and Auburn in the west and Rookwood, parts of Strathfield and Burwood in the south. The main suburbs include Abbotsford, Auburn (part), Berala (part), Breakfast Point, Burwood (part), Cabarita, Canada Bay, Chiswick, Concord, Concord West, Croydon (part), Drummoyne, Five Dock, Homebush, Homebush West, Liberty Grove, Lidcombe, Mortlake, Newington, North Strathfield, Rhodes, Rodd Point, Russell Lea, Silverwater, Strathfield (part), Sydney Olympic Park, Wareemba and Wentworth Point.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Light industry, commercial retail and engineering works. Wholesale and retail trades, including Sydney Markets.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Murphy, J (ALP) 2010–
  • Ferguson, L (ALP) 1990–2010
  • Uren, T (ALP) 1958–1990
  • Morgan, C A (ALP) 1949–1958
  • Lang, J T (LANG LAB) 1946–1949
  • Morgan, C A (ALP) 1940–1946
  • Gander, J H (ALP) 1931–1940
  • Coleman, P E (ALP) 1922–1931

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.