2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Parramatta (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Parramatta (2009) [PDF 93KB]
Map of the Division of Parramatta (2009) [PDF 5.6MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after the locality of Parramatta which was first settled in 1788. The name is Aboriginal for 'plenty of eels' or 'head of river'.
Area and Location Description:
Parramatta covers an area of approximately 56 sq km from Carlingford and Dundas in the east to Old Toongabbie and South Wentworthville in the west. The main suburbs include Constitution Hill, Dundas Valley, Granville, Harris Park, Holroyd, Mays Hill, North Parramatta, Oatlands, Old Toongabbie, Parramatta, Rosehill, Rydalmere, Telopea, Wentworthville, Westmead and parts of Dundas, Ermington, Guildford, Merrylands, Merrylands West, Northmead, North Rocks, Pendle Hill, South Granville and South Wentworthville.
Products/industries of the area:
Retail, financial services, transport industry, building materials, major industry and tourism.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan
Owens, J (ALP) 2004–
Cameron, R (LP) 1996–2004
Elliott, R P (ALP) 1990–1996
Brown, J J (ALP) 1977–1990
Ruddock, P M (LP) 1973–1977
Bowen, N H (LP) 1964–1973
Barwick, G E (LP) 1958–1964
Beale, O H (LP) 1946–1958
Stewart, F H (UAP) 1931–1946
Rowe, A E (ALP) 1929–1931
Bowden, E K (NAT) 1922–1929
Pratten, H E (NAT) 1921–1922
Cook, J (FT/ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1901–1921
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Parramatta
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Parramatta
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Parramatta
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.