Commonwealth Electoral Division of Parramatta (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Parramatta AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after the locality of Parramatta which was first settled in 1788. The name is Aboriginal for 'plenty of eels' or 'head of river'.

Size & location description:

Parramatta covers an area of approximately 56 sq km from Carlingford and Dundas in the east to Old Toongabbie and South Wentworthville in the west. The main suburbs include Constitution Hill, Dundas Valley, Granville, Harris Park, Holroyd, Mays Hill, North Parramatta, Oatlands, Old Toongabbie, Parramatta, Rosehill, Rydalmere, Telopea, Wentworthville, Westmead and parts of Dundas, Ermington, Guildford, Merrylands, Merrylands West, Northmead, North Rocks, Pendle Hill, South Granville and South Wentworthville.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Retail, financial services, transport industry, building materials, major industry and tourism.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Owens, J (ALP) 2004–
  • Cameron, R (LP) 1996–2004
  • Elliott, R P (ALP) 1990–1996
  • Brown, J J (ALP) 1977–1990
  • Ruddock, P M (LP) 1973–1977
  • Bowen, N H (LP) 1964–1973
  • Barwick, G E (LP) 1958–1964
  • Beale, O H (LP) 1946–1958
  • Stewart, F H (UAP) 1931–1946
  • Rowe, A E (ALP) 1929–1931
  • Bowden, E K (NAT) 1922–1929
  • Pratten, H E (NAT) 1921–1922
  • Cook, J (FT/ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1901–1921

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.