Commonwealth Electoral Division of Parkes (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Parkes AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Sir Henry Parkes (1815–96), former Premier of New South Wales and known as the 'Father of Federation'.

Size & location description:

Parkes covers an area of approximately 256 643 sq km from the Queensland border in the North to Ilford, Tomingley and Lake Cargelligo in the South; from Bingara, Boggabri and Coolah in the East to Dubbo, Wanaaring and Cobar in the West. The main towns include Bingara, Bourke, Brewarrina, Cobar, Condobolin, Coonabarabran, Coonamble, Dubbo, Gilgandra, Gulgong, Lake Cargelligo, Lightning Ridge, Moree, Mudgee, Mungindi, Narrabri, Narromine, Nyngan, Walgett, Warialda, Warren and Wellington.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Wool, beef, pork, wheat, cotton, oil seed crops, lucerne, fruit, vegetables, dairy cattle, horse, sheep and cattle studs, comprehensive agricultural support services, coal and opal mining, timber, wine growing, light engineering and construction industries.

First proclaimed/election:

1984 (There was previously a division with the name of Parkes which existed in the Sydney metropolitan area up until 1967.)

Demographic rating:



  • Coulton, M (NP) 2007–
  • Cobb, J (NP) 2001–2007
  • Lawler, A (NP) 1998–2001
  • Cobb, M (NP) 1984–1998

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.