2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of North Sydney (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of North Sydney (2009) [PDF 141KB]
Map of the Division of North Sydney (2009) [PDF 5.7MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after the area in which it is located.
Area and Location Description:
North Sydney covers an area of approximately 48 sq km from Sydney Harbour in the south to Fullers Road, Ashley St and Boundary St in the north and from Middle Harbour, Cammeray and Kirribilli in the east to Victoria Road, Pittwater Road and Lane Cove River in the west. Suburbs include Artarmon, Castle Cove, Cammeray, Castlecrag, Crows Nest, Greenwich, Henley, Hunters Hill, Huntleys Point, Kirribilli, Lane Cove, Lane Cove North, Lane Cove West, Lavender Bay, Linley Point, Longueville, McMahons Point, Milsons Point, Naremburn, North Willoughby, Northbridge, North Sydney, Northwood, Riverview, St Leonards, Waverton, Willoughby, Willoughby East, Wollstonecraft, Woolwich and parts of Chatswood, Chatswood West, Cremorne, Gladesville and Neutral Bay.
Products/industries of the area:
North Sydney is the third largest business centre in Australia. It contains communications, property and business services, and wholesale and retail industries.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan
Hockey, J (LP) 1996–
Mack, E C (IND) 1990–1996
Spender, J M (LP) 1980–1990
Graham, B W (LP) 1966–1980
Jack, W M (LP) 1949–1966
Hughes, W M (NAT/IND/NAT/UAP/LP) 1922–1949
Ryrie, G (LIB/NAT) 1911–1922
Edwards, G B (LIB) 1910–1911
Thompson, D (FT) 1901–1910
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for North Sydney
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for North Sydney
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for North Sydney
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.