2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of New England (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of New England (2009) [PDF 591KB]
Map of the Division of New England (2009) [PDF 14.0MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after the area of New England, the largest highland area in Australia.
Area and Location Description:
New England covers an area of approximately 59 344 sq km from the Queensland border in the north to the Gunnedah, Liverpool Plains, Tamworth Regional and Walcha local government areas in the south. The main towns include Armidale, Barraba, Bundarra, Deepwater, Glen Innes, Gunnedah, Guyra, Inverell, Manilla, Quirindi, Tamworth, Tenterfield, Uralla, Walcha, Werris Creek and parts of Delungra and Urbenville.
Products/industries of the area:
Cattle, sheep, grain, forestry, dairying, oats, maize, fruit, vegetables, tin-mining, bricks, trout hatchery, tourism, concrete pipe works, leather goods, tannery, gemstones, tobacco, lucerne, honey, grain processing, rubber industry, plaster works and concrete.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Windsor, T (IND) 2001–
St Clair, S (NP) 1998–2001
Sinclair, I (CP/NCP/NP) 1963–1998
Drummond, D H (CP) 1949–1963
Abbott, J P (CP) 1940–1949
Thompson, V C (CP) 1922–1940
Hay, A (NAT & FARMERS/CP/IND) 1919–1922
Abbott, P P (LIB/NAT) 1913–1919
Foster, F J (ALP) 1906–1913
Lonsdale, E (FT) 1903–1906
Sawers, W B S C (PROT) 1901–1903
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for New England
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for New England
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for New England
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.